The INCF governance structure consists of the Governing Board and the Council for Training, Science, and Infrastructure.

INCF governance

The INCF Governing Members contribute financially to INCF, and have decision-making power for the organization through representation on the INCF Governing Board. The European Union is also represented on the Board as an observer. The Board is advised by the Council for Training, Science, and Infrastructure (CTSI) on priorities and target areas for neuroinformatics, mainly around standards and best practices, interoperability, data sharing, infrastructure for neuroscience, and training in neuroinformatics. Reflecting INCF’s efforts in these areas, the CTSI has appointed committees for Training and Education, infrastructure and the management of INCF's endorsement process for standards and best practices.
Countries or regions can join as a Governing Member with a Governing Node. This requires a financial contribution, as specified in the core documents: INCF Bylaws, Business Plan, and Understanding. Please contact Head of Development and Communications Helena Ledmyr if you have questions regarding the organization or the process to join INCF.
The Governing Board and CTSI are supported by the INCF Secretariat, located at the Karolinska Institutet in Stockholm, Sweden. The Secretariat is the central office of INCF and is responsible for coordinating the scientific, infrastructural, training and education activities of the Network.

Governing Board

Country / organization Representative Function
USA Prof. Maryann Martone, UCSD Chair
Australia Prof. Gary Egan, Monash University Deputy chair
Canada Prof. Jean-Baptiste Poline, McGill University Member
Japan Prof. Yukiko Goda, RIKEN Brain Science Institute Member
Malaysia Dr. Tong-Boon Tang, Universiti Teknologi Petronas Member
Norway Dr. Alexandra Bjørk-Skaflestad, Research Council of Norway Member
Sweden Dr. Pontus Holm, Swedish Research Council Member
European Commission Dr. Mark Goldammer, Dr. Andreas Holtel Observer