Who we are

INCF's network consists of countries, regions, organizations, and individual neuroscience researchers who collaborate to develop and promote global brain research.

INCF is an international non-profit organization devoted to advancing the field of neuroinformatics, which functions through its global network consisting of Governing and Associate Nodes. The INCF Governing Members have decision-making power for the organization through the INCF Governing Board. The governance structure also includes a Council for Training, Science, and Infrastructure (CTSI), with broad international representation, which recommends INCF's direction in these areas.

The Governing Members contribute financially to INCF and sustain its activities. The Governing Board is composed of representatives from the Governing Members and is the means by which collective decisions regarding INCF are made. The European Union is also represented on the Board as an observer. The Governing Members each form a Governing Node, which represents their national network and collectively contribute to the scientific operation of INCF.

The broader network also includes regions, organizations, and individual researchers that participate in international neuroinformatics activities.

INCF group picture

Past and present members of the Governing Board and INCF Secretariat staff

The INCF Network is supported by the INCF Secretariat, located at the Karolinska Institutet in Stockholm, Sweden. The Secretariat is the central office of INCF and is responsible for coordinating the scientific, infrastructural, training and education activities of the Network, supporting the Nodes, and conducting project management, outreach, communications, logistical and administrative activities.

Governing Board

Country / organization Representative Function
Japan Prof. Keiji Tanaka, RIKEN Brain Science Institute Chair
Australia Prof. Gary Egan, Monash University Deputy chair
Canada TBA Member
Japan Prof. Yukiko Goda, RIKEN Brain Science Institute Member
Malaysia Dr. Naufal Saad, Universiti Teknologi Petronas Member
Norway Dr. Alexandra Bjørk-Skaflestad, Research Council of Norway Member
Sweden Dr. Pontus Holm, Swedish Research Council Member
European Commission Dr. Catherine Berens, EC Sector Neuroscience Observer

How to join

Groups and individuals can participate in INCF activities on different levels. Countries or regions can join as a Governing Member with a Governing Node. This requires a financial contribution, as specified in the core documents: INCF Bylaws, Business Plan, and Understanding. 

The INCF Governing Members set the agenda for global neuroinformatics - they have a direct impact on decision making related to future developments in international neuroinformatics initiatives through representation on the INCF Governing Board. Together with the CTSI, the Board defines priorities and target areas for global neuroinformatics and shapes INCF initiatives related to standards, interoperability, datasharing and infrastructure for neuroscience, and also takes an active role in defining international neuroinformatics training. 

Countries and regions may participate in the INCF Network for defined periods as Associate Nodes, following appointment by the INCF Governing Board.

Individuals are welcome to join the community online and in person at events that we organize or participate in. 

Please contact Development Officer Helena Ledmyr if you have questions regarding the organization or the process to join INCF.